Donate Today

James Kawlewski gets Conservationist of the Year award

Sassafras Audubon Society is happy to announce James Kawlewski as the 2018 Donald R. Whitehead Conservationist of the Year. James has performed outstanding work in promoting and educating kids and adults about the plight of the endangered Whooping Crane. He has during the last year given numerous talks at schools and libraries, manned countless outreach tables, and held workshops and training sessions for Crane Ambassadors and teachers.

2018 SAS Awards - Call for Nominations

Sassafras Audubon Society is soliciting nominations for our annual awards:
  • Barbra Restle's Founders Award - given to those that have given a lifetime of support to SAS.
  • Donald R. Whitehead Conservationist of the Year - for endless hours of support to avian conservation.
  • Lifetime Conservationist Award - for a lifetime of commitment and dedication in conservationism.

2017 SAS Award Recipients

We are happy to announce the recipients of the Annual Sassafras Audubon Society Awards:
  • The Barbara Restle Founder's Award goes to Robert Kissel for many years of service on the SAS Board (2000-2005, president 2001-2003) and with a special mention of the efforts in fundraising for our endowment.
  • The Lifetime Conservationist Award goes to Jim Eagleman for a lifetime commitment to education, the land and Brown County State Park.


Sassafras Audubon Society | PO Box 85 | Bloomington, IN 47402 | Contact Us